Adversity

A few days ago my parents came for a visit. I invited them over to discuss some changes happening in my life and wanted support and understanding during a stressful time. My father and I are alike in many aspects of our personality. This typically is a wonderful thing that I feel honored to possess. In the case of this visit, maybe not so much.

How many times have you responded to something and when you looked back you instantly regretted it? This was one of those times. This post is a direct reflection of why I started this blog. When faced with adversity, we as humans tend to exaggerate our responses. I know I do. More often than I would like to admit. I am disappointed with myself and even worse, my father is disappointed. No matter what age you are, this is never a good feeling.

I do much better writing things down then speaking them. A letter between my father and I mended fences today. I am blessed to have his forgiveness and I am ready to move beyond our indiscretions. In light of all this, my amazing mother pointed out a verse that related directly to what was happening. This is one I know well. Philippians 4:6-7. Don’t worry about anything;instead pray about everything. Tell God what you need and thank Him for all He has done. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

I find it miraculous that no matter what has transpired in your life, there is always an answer within God’s word.  We must choose to be faithful and obedient to what God has asked of us. Respect is an earned quality. Remember not to take it for granted. Dear Lord, thank you for the wonderful people in my life. Help me to show gratitude and form an open mind whenever faced with adversity. Amen.

 

 

Leave a Reply

